5:2 fasting day 9.5 – my day on a plate

After I wrote my blog post on Friday, my fasting day took a bit of a change of path. By change of path, I mean I decided to go out for dinner, halt the fasting day, and recommence (re-do) the following day. I was completely fine with the decision – it meant I’d still done a solid portion of the day with minimal calories and no refined carbs or sugars (just a coffee and some raw veg), on top of my full fasting day the next day.

That meant that yesterday was my first attempt at a weekend fasting day. I wasn’t nervous about it, but I also wasn’t sure how I’d go. Turns out, if I have a (reasonably) busy day, the weekends are a great time to fast. I got to eat different food to my normal fasting lunch, I didn’t get hungry, and at the end of the day I still had leftover calories for some fruit. Here’s my Saturday Fasting Day on a plate:

lunch

Lunch: chilli tomato and mushroom zoodles

dinner

Dinner: green veg stirfry with soy and red onion sauce

pearblueberries

Dessert: a medium pear and a punnet of blueberries

At this point in time I’m still triple checking my maths to make sure everything I’m eating is actually keeping me on track – I find it hard to believe sometimes that I can eat this much food for only 500 calories. The pear and the blueberries last night felt like a treat – it’s the first time I’ve had fruit on a fasting day, and I could only have them because I skipped the morning coffee. Given that that’s something I can do on weekends and can’t do on weekdays, it’s a good incentive to keep trying weekend fasting! Another plus was the massive plate of zoodles I had for lunch – well worth it, and much more satisfying than my normal ‘grazing box’ of raw veg at work.

3 thoughts on “5:2 fasting day 9.5 – my day on a plate

Leave a comment